Florida Fishing License
License fees are set by the Florida Legislature for hunting and fishing (both freshwater and saltwater) and are subject to change, along with stipulations on exemptions. In addition to the cost of a license or permit given in this section, an issuance fee of $0.50 may be charged by the subagent selling the license or permit. The 2007 Legislature, for the first time since 1989, agreed to moderate fee increases effective October 1, 2007. The new fee increase was actually less than the impact that the consumer price index had during the intervening years, and is below the midway price for fishing licenses in the 50 states. Given Florida's year round fishing season, great diversity of fishes and abundant locations to go fishing near you, this is still one of the best recreational values around.
The cost of a license will vary, depending on many options based on where you fish, where you buy your license, whether you are a resident and if any exemptions apply. The least expensive place to buy is at your tax collectors office. For added convenience, many bait-and-tackle shops and sports retailers (e.g., Wal-Mart, K-Mart, Sports Authority) sell licenses, for a small additional fee. Instant licenses are also available via the Internet or a toll free call to credit card users, for an additional convenience fee.
Basically, you need a freshwater license to take freshwater fish and a saltwater license to take saltwater fish, unless one of the exemptions specified on this Web site applies to your situation. However, when you get into estuarine type areas with both salt and fresh water fish, the issue becomes less clear.
A resident permanent senior license for those 65 years old and older, authorizes the holder to take or attempt to take or possess freshwater fish and game consistent with state and federal regulations and the rules of the Commission at the time of taking. The holder of this license may engage in all activities authorized by a management area permit, a muzzle-loading gun permit, a turkey permit, an archery permit, and a Florida waterfowl permit. These licenses should be issued by the Tax Collector's offices only.
Youth under the age of 16 do not need a fishing license, although they must abide by all other fishing regulations such as gear type, bag and size limits. They may, however, be asked to provide proof of age.
All replacement licenses can be handled by the County Tax Collector.
If you prefer, you can order an instant license via a toll-free phone call by dialing 1-888-FISH-FLORIDA (347-4356) from anywhere in the United States or Canada, and within minutes you'll have a temporary license number enabling you to hunt (in season) or fish right away. Your permanent license will be mailed within 48 hours.
Please note, in addition to the cost of the license, a fee of $3.25 per person plus 2.5% of the total sale, will be added to your license fee.
Licenses may also be purchased from county tax collectors or their subagents, who are generally located at tackle shops, fish camps, hardware stores and sporting goods stores. In addition to the license stamp fees listed above, agents are entitled to a $0.50 fee. License fees are set by the Florida Legislature and are subject to change.
Definition of Resident:
For the purpose of fishing in Florida, a person is a resident if he or she has lived in Florida for six continuous months prior to applying for licenses and who has an intent to continue to reside in Florida and claim Florida as his or her primary residence. Active military personnel stationed in Florida, including their spouses and dependent children residing in the household, are considered residents when purchasing fishing licenses.
Resident 12-Month Freshwater Fishing
(Valid for 12 months from specified beginning date)-$13.50
64 or Older Hunting and Fishing: includes Freshwater Fishing and Hunting licenses; and Type I WMA, Archery, Muzzleloading Gun, Turkey permits and waterfowl permit-$13.50
Sportsman's License: includes Hunting, Freshwater Fishing, and permits for Wildlife Management Area, Archery, Muzzleloading Gun, Turkey, Florida Waterfowl
(Valid 12 months from specified beginning date)-$67.50
Gold Sportsman's License (includes Hunting, Saltwater Fishing and Freshwater Fishing licenses; and Type I Wildlife Management Area, Archery, Muzzleloading Gun, Turkey and Florida Waterfowl, Snook and Crawfish Permits)--$83.50
7-Day Freshwater Fishing
(Valid seven days from specified beginning date)-$16.50
12-Month Freshwater Fishing
(Valid for 12 months from specified beginning date)-$31.50